“The Deaf Guy” by Mike U.

We receive and welcome Mike U, we will publish his essays (Monday yes, Monday not)

—j re crivello Editor

Let’s talk about labels, shall we? You know, those quaint little terms people give to one another to justify demonization and dehumanization? Yeah, those things. Whether it’s third-grade bullies on the playground harassing the kid who’s a little different, or the former leader of the free world calling immigrants “drug dealers, criminals and rapists” in order to justify kidnapping children and placing them in cages, all of it really comes from the same dark place.

Humans have a disturbing capacity to attack those who are different. “Otherism” serves this purpose well and has been used to justify the most heinous acts in human history. It’s a power-trip, one-upmanship to the extreme. You want to control an individual or a group of people? Stick a label on them, preferably an unsavory one that dehumanizes them, and suddenly you have the power to destroy them because they are outsiders, interlopers, outcasts, others.

Religion and politics have a rich history of otherism and persecution of those who don’t belong to their specific ideologies. It’s been said that more people have died in the name of some god or other than for any other reason in history. Whether this is accurate or not is beside the point; a look around the world throughout mankind’s infestation of this planet shows that history is rife with persecution, torture and murder of those who don’t adhere to a particular religious system, no matter what system it may be. As for politics, we need only look at our own two-party system here in the U.S., where the party which is hell-bent on destroying democracy considers the other party a cabal of satan-worshipping, cannibalistic pedophiles and uses this dangerous and ridiculous cult conspiracy theory to justify its attempts to overturn our elections and overthrow our government, not to mention its constant dehumanization and labeling of marginalized groups such as immigrants, LGBTQ+, people of color, the elderly, disabled and poor and anyone else who is “different.” Again, a glance at history will show atrocities committed against others as a central thread of human evolution.

What does this have to do with a deaf blog, you may ask? A lot, actually (and thanks for asking).

I’ve been labeled for various reasons throughout my life. I was born and raised in a particular western U.S. state notorious for being dominated by one particular religious system. I don’t belong to that particular religious system, so there was plenty of discrimination during my school years. It was made clear to me early on that I was an outcast, a pariah, and would forever be an outsider unless I became “one of them” and ceased to be “one of the others.” Academically, athletically and socially, there was discrimination. I even had a “pet bully” who delighted in terrorizing me for years for no apparent reason. I was simply “the non-mormon kid.” I was also “the out-of-town farm kid,” which further disqualified me from any semblance of equality and inclusion in that tight little wad of happy humanity at school. My home life wasn’t much better– I was simply invisible.

Labels are sticky things, hard to peel off once applied, and when you find yourself covered in them, sometimes you begin to believe them. You become overly sensitive to them, and yet desensitized to them at the same time—a strange paradox. Some labels contain a kernel of truth but are applied in such a way as to exaggerate that truth into something monstrous. This is especially painful with regards to physical traits and can haunt these victims for life. Some may be a nod to some personality trait or other quirk and may seem humorous to some. I was “the brain” in school due to my academic efforts (trying to fit in, an exercise in futility). At home I was “the disrespectful kid” for standing up to my abusive father. At various other times I held other odd titles, some of which were sort of funny and others which weren’t funny at all.

Many years ago, I had a part-time job cleaning toilets and mopping floors (there are not a lot of options in rural areas for deaf people). I was known as “the janitor guy.” Of all the people who worked there, only one person ever took the time to learn my name. Otherwise, it was “Hey, Janitor Guy! Come clean up this mess!” The thing with labels is they’re lazy. It takes zero effort to make up some cute little moniker for someone in order to lop that person into some anonymous group of others, but it takes effort to see that person as a unique human being. To everyone in that store (except Arnie—thanks, man), I was just “the janitor guy,” a sub-species of Earth organism not worthy of attention or inclusion. Sure, I cleaned toilets, but that didn’t define me as a person. It was only something I did for awhile and had no bearing on my humanity and my place in the cosmos.

And now I’m “the deaf guy.”

Again, there’s a kernel of truth here (heck, there’s an entire cob’s worth of kernels), but this label bothers me on a particularly deep level. You see, I don’t want to be deaf. Deafness has taken too much away from me for me to harbor any warm, fuzzy feelings about it. It’s not a cute label (like being “the Star Wars fanatic” as a teen), and it’s certainly not something I cherish (unlike “brother” or “friend” or “uncle”). This label just cuts too deeply and has produced too many scars.

Whenever I interact with anyone, the first thing I must explain is that I’m deaf. This immediately creates the scenario of “Hearing Person and Deaf Guy: A Study in Frustration, Confusion and Humiliation.” Right off the bat, I’ve become the deaf guy, and this is how everyone who interacts with me remembers me. It’s inescapable and there’s no way around it and it forces me into that group of nameless others who reside along the periphery of normal human experience.

Man: “Honey, guess what I saw in the store today? A deaf guy!”

Woman: “A deaf guy? Oh! Was he deaf?”

Man: “Yes!”

Woman: “Was he confused?”

Man: “Yes!”

Woman: “Was he embarrassed?”

Man: “Yes. He was deaf, after all!”

(cue canned laughter and sitcom music as scene fades to commercial)

Obviously, I joke about this stuff (if I didn’t have a sense of humor, I don’t know how I could ever possibly cope with deafness or depression or anything else) but it’s to prove a point: the hearing and the deaf live in completely different worlds. For someone such as myself, who experienced late-onset adult deafness due to meningitis as a teen, I’m not only “the deaf guy,” I’m also a member of the sub-group of others called “the in-betweeners.” I’m too deaf to fit into the hearing world, but not deaf enough to fit into the Deaf world.

I have severe hearing loss in both ears. I lip-read but it’s all guesswork and I miss a lot of words to the point where I must rely on people writing or typing what they say in order to understand. I can still hear some sounds. I don’t know sign language, and even if I did, I don’t know anyone who’s deaf or hard-of-hearing or who knows ASL. So, yeah, I’m one of the “too something but not something enough” subgroup of others. I remember my normal hearing days and miss them. I know a little about Deaf culture (something I’ll write about soon) and there is virtually nothing in my rural area in terms of deaf support services or groups. I view my deafness as a disability, something that runs counter to the view of many Deaf folks. Perhaps if I’d been born deaf or lost my hearing as a young child, I’d be more inclined to embrace it as an identity rather than a disability. As it stands now, deafness has robbed me of my life’s dream of becoming a musician; it has resulted in isolation and the inability to relate to other people; it has damaged my sense of self and has resulted in a lot of pain and loneliness. I can’t view that as a good thing no matter how hard I try.

Alas, I have to accept it at some point. It’s the only way to achieving peace within myself. I don’t want to be the deaf guy forever. I want to be Mike, a guy who has value as a human being, who just happens to be deaf. No more labels. Just truth.


Mike is a deaf writer/photographer who lives in rural southwest Colorado, USA.  His love of nature shines through his poetry and photography, both of which he uses to make sense of his world, and can be found on his blog Silent Pariah.

22 comentarios sobre ““The Deaf Guy” by Mike U.

  1. “I want to be Mike, a guy who has value as a human being, who just happens to be deaf. No more labels. Just truth.”

    I think you already know that’s who you are. I don’t discredit that the human experience is a difficult one. Other people’s voices, our inner voices, which sometimes become a mixture of each other, do make it difficult at times to not take on labels ourselves, and emotional upheaval as a result.

    “It’s the only way to achieving peace within myself.”

    There already you’ve achieved more than some do their entire lives.

    ❤️

    Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. Thanks for the kind words, Melissa. I’m most definitely still a work-in-progress, not only as a deaf guy but as a human being. Four decades of dealing with progressive hearing loss and I still struggle with it daily. Still trying to reach that elusive point where I’m okay with being deaf. Writing about my experiences helps put things into perspective, but I’m not there yet. Thanks for reading and for sharing your thoughts. Much appreciated. 🙂

      Le gusta a 2 personas

  2. I empathize with you a lot–I spent four years unable to physically speak to anyone louder than a whisper, which is not the same as hearing loss and definitely not as long, but I relate so much to that isolation and inability to communicate with other humans, and all the shame from literally every interaction.

    I don’t know if you’ve come across this before, but there’s this idea of the medical model of disability vs the social model–the medical model essentially puts the blame for being disabled on the person, like, «you’re disabled, you can’t function in normal society until medicine or something fixes you,» while the social model basically says «people aren’t inherently disabled, instead, society’s lack of accommodation pushes people into a label of disability.» The line of disability is not drawn in my body, but rather belongs to the world around me that doesn’t accept me.

    I think both models have their uses (medicine is an incredibly helpful thing, obviously), but it was a mindset shift for me to go «I’m disabled, but that’s not inherently my fault, it’s a side-effect of being outside what society accommodates for.»

    Haha that was a bit of an info dump, sending you 🤗❤❤

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Hey, Jordyn. Thanks for this deep and thoughtful comment. I’m sorry to know you suffered for years through no fault of your own, and had to experience the isolation that comes with communication difficulties. No one should be made to feel ashamed for simply being human, you know?

      The concept of a medical vs. societal disability model is interesting and I’ve seen this at work in my own life. For example, in Deaf culture, deafness is not considered a disability but rather an identity, and those in Deaf society fiercely defend this identity, which is fine if that’s how a deaf person feels. Deaf culture has its requirements for being a part of that group, and I don’t fit in because I don’t know sign language and because I don’t view (from my very real and unique personal life experiences) my deafness as being something to willingly embrace as an identity. It’s taken far too much away from me and made my life exponentially more difficult, and I don’t want that to be my identity (because, hey, it’s just another label, right?).

      The origin of my deafness was a harsh bout of meningitis at age 18. There was nothing I did that caused my deafness. Yet some people, like you mentioned, will cast blame on me for being deaf, as if it’s a bad choice I made early in life and therefore I deserve to be shamed for it. These people are generally the ones who constantly attack the social safety net here in the States and spew lies about rampant welfare fraud and how drastic cuts are needed to turn disabled folks into that mythic and extreme-right notion of a «rugged individualist.» You probably know what group I’m referring to. To them, disability is the person’s fault, and that person should just…go away… Other folks, instead of playing the blame game, try to find ways to help integrate disabled people into society and realize that «disabled» is yet another label that holds people back, through no fault of their own. The stark contrast between the left and the right in this country is staggering when it comes to how disabled folks are viewed and treated.

      Over the years, I’ve come to see myself as someone who struggles with a disability that most people will never understand, and which many people deny exists (my own dad went to his grave insisting I was faking my deafness all these years). It’s hard enough to go through daily life with the odds stacked against you, but to have to deal with people who question your honesty and integrity just makes everything so much darker and difficult.

      In a perfect world, we’d all accept and embrace each other for our uniqueness and diversity and make a grand effort to live in harmony. After all, harmony requires several different notes to exist, right? This world will never fully accept those of us who are «different» from the rest, regardless of the fact that we’re all inherently worthy of love and acceptance, no matter our differences. The hope that exists, as far as I’m concerned, is that there are people who are willing to see beyond those difference and do whatever it takes to accommodate everyone into society. It’s a never-ending battle, but at least it’s a battle being fought, and that’s something to inspire at least a little hope.

      We all matter; we all have value; we all deserve to love and be loved.

      Thanks for sharing, Jordyn. I really appreciate you and your kindness, my friend. 🙂

      Le gusta a 2 personas

  3. GREAT post Mike! A hard world to live in. Thanks for sharing this and raising awareness. TG for hearing aids for me ( a love hate ) but to live in a world without them is isolating and brutal. I almost couldn’t find my hearing aide and was panicking as I left for my book launch as I remembered the times when I discovered I needed them and bought or couldn’t find them and it was impossible to function doing a talk or at a class. I wouldn’t have been able to interact the way I can when i hear which is still tough at times.
    I’m lucky mine is a disease and I can have surgery to fix it but you could go deaf permanently if it doesn’t work so last night when I couldn’t find it I thought… «that’s it, I’m going for the surgery».

    My mom was in the front row and I said something that I have arthritis which is hereditary from my mom and and dad and my mom couldn’t hear and I said it again and she said «I have no problems»..
    She thought I said something else. It’s such a curse for so many and it breaks my heart my father in law can’t hear at all.

    Anyway Mike, you will always be Mike to me.. the honest, sensitive, heartfelt human and great writer and poet. And so sorry you have had all of this to deal with! But Mike.. I think you maybe just maybe you may never have been as articulate as you are without this handicap that has made you into an accomplished and astute writer and lover of nature that speaks to you through all of your other senses,

    ❤️🙏🏼💕

    Loved this.

    » but this label bothers me on a particularly deep level. You see, I don’t want to be deaf. Deafness has taken too much away from me for me to harbor any warm, fuzzy feelings about it. It’s not a cute label (like being “the Star Wars fanatic” as a teen), and it’s certainly not something I cherish (unlike “brother” or “friend” or “uncle”). This label just cuts too deeply and has produced too many scars.

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Thanks, Cindy, for your always positive and enlightening comments. I’m sorry you’re struggle with hearing loss. I had hearing aids at two different times and they simply didn’t help at all. My type of hearing loss can’t be improved with amplification, and I’m not a good candidate for a cochlear implant, so I’m sort up up the proverbial creek. I’ll likely go completely deaf at some point. After all these years, I’ve come to accept that it’s my fate, I suppose. I, too, have misunderstood people so many times and answered or acted oddly because I thought people said something they didn’t. Man, it can be incredibly embarrassing (and funny at times, too). Both of my parents began losing their hearing in old age (normal hearing loss) but neither would get tested or consider using hearing aids, which I found so strange because they saw firsthand what I was going through and how it affected my life. Also, neither of them did much to accommodate my deafness, which I’ve written about in some of my essays. It felt like they were invalidating my life experience with deafness by pretending I wasn’t deaf or accusing me of faking it.

      If you have surgery, I hope you come through with flying colors, my friend. I hope you’ll write about it on your blog. I’d be really interested in reading about it.

      Thanks again for your kindness, Cindy. I appreciate you so much and I’m glad you’re here. 🙂

      Le gusta a 2 personas

      1. Thanks so much Mike. It’s so terribly debilitating and I am truly sorry it is your fate and your parents treated you unfairly too.
        That just compounds it. Such a drag but yes, acceptance with most things is where we have to get. ugh. who knows if I’ll really do it.
        It’s my pleasure to be here with you on your journey always and I sure will write about it.. hugs to you my friend. I appreciate you too. Gotta post and the babies are calling.. xo 🥰🥰

        Le gusta a 1 persona

  4. Hello Mike, I hope you are doing well. I’m really glad to know that your essay (too) is published. These essays are worth reading and deserve to be published. I hope you will write more and we will get something beautiful to read. Always love to read your posts.. wise and deep writing indeed👍

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Hi, Saima! It’s really good to hear from you again, my friend. I’m truly grateful that you took the time to read this piece and leave such a kind comment. It’s so nice that these essays are finally seeing the light of day. It’s my hope that they’ll bring awareness and enlightenment to readers, both hearing and deaf. You’ve always been so supportive and I appreciate you and all you do. It’s a pleasure to see you here. Thanks again, dear friend! 🙂

      Me gusta

  5. What a powerful essay, Mike, and to me, you are Mike, the incredible writer. You’re right, «labels are sticky things, hard to peel off once applied.» I was a chubby little girl and was called ‘fatso’ on one awful day as a ten year old. Even in my early sixties now, that memory can’t be erased. I’ve always fought with 10-20 extra pounds which probably doesn’t sound like much, but those extra can make a difference in body and mind. It’s really about loving ourselves. A story of mine titled «Numbers Lie» is in Yvette’s latest anthology, This is How We Grow. It’s the first time I’ve talked publicly about this. I have grown, but labels hurt no matter what. I’ve also been sensitive to names. I address others by their names because that’s who they are. Aretha Franklin sang it well, «R-e-s-p-e-c-t!»
    Anyway, thank you for sharing your experience, and I’m sorry for what you have endured. The world has gone crazy in my opinion. Why people have to resort to violence or vitriol because they don’t like how someone looks, is, or believes is beyond my comprehension. But I hope your essay will bring awareness to this very serious issue. ❤️

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Thanks, Lauren, for such a thoughtful comment. I’m sorry you’ve had to go through this whole labeling thing, too. Childhood is tough enough without other kids being cruel. You’re right–some memories never fade. Decades later, we still hurt. To me, you’re Lauren, compassionate friend and amazing writer. I agree that the world has gone crazy. It’s like a slow-motion train wreck, as people turn on each other. This is why I value our WordPress community so much. There are some legitimately good people here (like you) who make this place a pleasant oasis in an otherwise barren desert. I truly appreciate your kindness and your taking the time to read and comment. I’m glad you’re here, Lauren. 🙂

      Le gusta a 1 persona

  6. Where to start Mike, I could write pages but I won’t. Your work has always touched me to the point of tears, your love of nature is exquisitely melded into your work, and I am a lover of nature. Your more serious poems are always so powerful – so first I admire you for your prodigious work. I have always gotten to know the Janitorial or Commercial Cleaning staff where ever I have worked.

    Mike it saddens my heart to know you had an abusive father on top of being deaf must have been such a lonely existence. People have become so very cruel in our world. My husband and I once saw two people walk right by a man on the pavement – one actually stepping over him and never looked back. We ran across the street and the man was having a grand mal seizure, we immediately put my husband’s jacket under his head and dialed 911. Daycares are starting to teach young ones sign language and many were already doing that when we lived in Seattle. The little ones just absorb languages.

    I feel like we have many things in common but I never compare my pain with another person’s, because I don’t think that is fair or possible. Because I was so afraid of being at the table with my parents I hid my food around my plate so I could go back outside and later after being punished for that multiple times I would put it in my underwear. Then I would eat food out of trash cans. I was extremely anemic and sickly and wasn’t taken to the doctors. I am guessing this might have happened to you as well.

    The name calling is shameful and I can only pray about how children like myself or you, who are just as smart and normal as the next kid but have something a little different about us. For you, you were non-verbal for me my parents were in the paper a lot in a small town and I was ridiculed and humiliated for their behavior. I have thought about you a lot my friend even though you have not heard from me. I think about and pray for the people I love. That includes the people on line.

    I am so looking forward to this educational look at what it is like to be deaf or non-verbal in this world today. God bless Juan for publishing this as it will be very educational for me. I really want to know if you see a woman that you are attracted to, as you are a nice looking man, what is the best way to approach it and how could the woman approach you? This might help someone who is interested in getting to know someone but does not know how to approach who ever it is for example. I apologize for my very long comment. I am just so glad that you will be doing it and I know I have already been blessed by your first post. It takes courage to talk about our pain so thank you so much Mike. Love and hugs, Joni

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Hi, Joni. Thanks as always for your kind words, and for reading this essay. You have a wonderful heart and a golden soul, my friend. 🙂

      I should clarify that I was never non-verbal. My deafness began when I was 18 years old due to a rough bout of meningitis (it’s a progressive loss, and I’ll likely go completely deaf at some point). Up until that point, my hearing had been especially acute. I’ve always been able to speak normally and still do. I was incredibly shy (still am) so I don’t talk a lot and was really quiet as a kid, but yes, I speak normally and always have. This has caused many people to accuse me of faking my deafness, as if deaf and hard-of-hearing people are all expected to have speech impediments. It continues to this day, and one of my upcoming essays deals with what it’s like to be accused of faking a disability. Deafness is referred to as the “invisible disability” because you can’t “see” deafness like you can other disabilities, so there’s a lot of doubt and suspicion on behalf of the hearing world aimed at deaf folks.

      As for my abusive dad, he was a dry-drunk monster. The physical abuse was mostly aimed at my mom and older sister (I was too quick for him to get hold of me as a kid, although he physically assaulted me and threatened to shoot me a few months after my mom died in 2015). I was my mom’s protector from about age 7, and hyper-vigilance was the norm in order to be prepared to save her from my dad. I never ate at the dinner table, either, due to my dad’s unpredictability and insanely short temper. Strangely, even all these years later, living alone, both my parents gone, I still don’t eat at the kitchen table. Some things are just too deeply ingrained in our psyches, and the trauma persists. I’m terribly sorry to learn how rough your childhood was, Joni. My heart breaks when I read your poetry and stories and comments. You’re incredibly courageous to share your experiences with your readers, and I know you’re touching souls and helping give strength to those in similar situations.

      I agree about the state of humanity in today’s world. We seem to have lost our compassion, as well as our moral compass. A quick look at the daily news shows how far we’ve fallen as a species. Is there any hope for us? I wish I could believe there is, but my heart says there isn’t.

      As for relationships, I made a decision years ago that I was never going to pursue them again. I was tired of being hurt. Being with someone wasn’t worth feeling suicidal because of all the pain associated with being cheated on and dumped repeatedly. My last two relationships ended so badly that I swore “never again…” I’ve spent my life since then trying to come to terms with being alone for the rest of my life, just as I’m trying to accept my deafness. It’s difficult, but being highly introverted helps as I’m okay with being alone most of the time. But being alone is not the same as being lonely, and it’s crippling at times. However, I have no plans to ever pursue a relationship with anyone ever again. It don’t need the drama and pain, you know? Also, my life is a mess, I’m old and disabled and poor, and I have nothing to offer anyone. It’s better for me to be on my own.

      Anyway, thanks again for reading and for your thoughtful comment. I truly appreciate you and all you do, my friend. I hope you enjoy the upcoming essays. 🙂

      Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario