“Night Thoughts” by Mike U.

“Night Thoughts”
© 2012 by Michael L. Utley

I vomit out myself again each night
When lights go out and tired thoughts awake
To find that darkened mere from which to slake
Their thirst for dark dominion. In the bright
And sane pedantic musings of the light
Where every thought, word, deed presumes to take
On tones of gilded gravity, I stake
My soul against the coming evening’s fight.

The day is done; I’m with my thoughts, alone
And sleep cannot—will not—this night prevail.
My mind, a dynamo, begins to race
And images appear as if they’ve grown
In some dark, dank and fetid fen. I quail
As my true self confronts me, face to face.

I see myself most clearly in the dark
When eyes stare listlessly into the gloom
Of my unlighted silent little room
And clarity has never missed its mark.
The diff’rence between day and night is stark,
Where shadows rob the flower of its bloom
And night-noise bespeaks harbingers of doom
Who from abyssal shores will soon embark.

There is no madness here; there is a shift
Of light to darkness only, but in fine
It colors every thought a darker hue
And ushers in a sort of seismic rift
That sullies every fruit on every vine
And every thought and every feeling, too.

The day’s lucidity reduced to lies,
I gaze at the abyss and there I see
On some far distant shore another me
Whose own lucidity is in demise.
The shadows—living things amid the cries
And cruel cacophony of things that flee
The light—surround me as if to decree
To all assembled, “This is where hope dies.

“What’s done in daylight holds no power here.
We’ll strip the varnish from your petty dreams
And rid you of your sanity anon.
For daylight is a poor façade for fear
And reason ineffectual when screams
Will render moot the light you count upon.”

And once again, like every other night
The battle lines are drawn upon the sands
Of sleep not yet attained, and on these lands
Depression pits the dark against the light.
And once again, like every other fight
I fall upon the ground, the shadows’ hands
Upon my throat in icy burning bands,
All thoughts of hope now fading out of sight.

And then from distant shores of the abyss
Across the chasm, lilting in the dark
A plaintive, calming voice, a gentle weep
Touches my mind, my soul, as if a kiss
Were sent to me upon a winging lark:
“Seek sleep,” it says to me, “let go, seek sleep.”

And I give in and in surrendering
I leave behind the darkness and the din
Of shadowlands where battles rage therein
And naught is won or lost. And that’s the thing
That catches in my mind just like the ring
Of distant bells, discordant in their thin
Attempt to quell the heart surfeit of sin
In any man whose sleep the night won’t bring.

And leaves unanswered still my current plight:
Is truth found in the darkness or the light?

26 comentarios sobre ““Night Thoughts” by Mike U.

  1. I love how, despite the overwhelming gloom, a calming voice eventually guides you towards sleep, leaving you (and us) to ponder…

    Something that always blows me away about many of your poems, Mike, is that every line feels essential and purposeful, despite the length (which is something that I struggle with). Your depth of thought comes through each word.

    ~David

    Le gusta a 5 personas

    1. Thanks, David. These longer structured poems really do exhaust me and tend to take quite a while to write. This old poem clocked in at around ten hours and I remember finishing up around 7:30 a.m–a real all-nighter. But, I love structured poetry–I find it really challenging and fulfilling–and I wanted to write an extended sonnet, so it took some time to complete. This is a dramatization, of course–my insomnia isn’t comprised of a demonic horde–but I wanted to express the futility and despair that accompanies severe chronic insomnia. I’ve had it since age 11 and it’s been tough to deal with at times. So, I let my imagination run wild and conjured up some of the most bleak images possible. I was a lot of fun to write, and I was totally wiped-out at the end.

      Thanks for your always kind support. I truly appreciate it. It means a lot coming frrom someone whose poetry I admire so much. 😊

      Le gusta a 3 personas

  2. I find structure to be so common-place in your work. We could consider ourselves antonym peers because we always write distinct in style and your style is in-of-its-own genre and mine’s Genre-Less. These days, I’m still learning from you my friend. I got a 3 week ping on Insomnia-Work to remember I did something to be grateful for myself about. I see this in yours too, especially in the archives!! Keep undusting the folders, I’m really enjoying your work and your writing, Mike!!

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Thanks, Sam. Yeah, I seem to favor structure in my poetry, although I’ve never analyzed all of my poetry to find the ratio between structured and free-style. Even a lot of my free-style poetry has an underlying rigid syllabic structure, but no rhyme scheme, so it feels free-form but it’s more hybrid. I think structure creates better flow (if it’s done right), but it does have some restrictions (which I consider challenges more than hindrances). Being a big fan of Robert Frost and Edwin Arlington Robinson, I’m drawn to structure, but I love working without form, too. In the end, I try to just let the words flow, rregardless of how long or short the piece may end up being (the poem is finished when it decides it is, eh?), and do my best to be true to my personal vision.

      Thanks for your support and encouragement, my friend. 😊

      Le gusta a 1 persona

      1. I understand this, Mike. Debuges like «stream-of-consciousness» are what I get often that I don’t quite use to describe. Perhaps the process looked like that. Petrichor Archive and writing for this webpage as a owner / writer / editor; I have this own understanding that what I love to be considered structured is deemed broken and free-verse when it’s really more-so visualization structure and audible counting in syllabic form otherwise known as «half-pentameter iambic» which is really how I write. People think the structureless are British and my accent is well for that but my nationality and culture exudes American and international. What can ya do, but just like your work Friend!! Hahahaha😄 at least through others I find much clarity and description in myself that I don’t take the time to eyeball at. I’m pretty grateful for that as a Writer.

        Mutual thanks as always, my friend 😌😎

        Le gusta a 1 persona

  3. Mike, your mastery of the sonnet form is amazing. No wonder it took hours and hours to write. I usually don’t care for rhyming poetry, since it often feels contrived and forced. But when YOU write it, well, that’s a different story. 🙂 The careful crafting and classic beauty of the form come through and enhance the meaning/message. It makes the experience of insomnia feel as old as time, which it is. There’s a universal feel to this, but also an intensely personal one as you share your own experience of a mind that can’t let go. And then in last few stanzas, you do, and there is a collective sigh from your reader (moi). That release at the end feels exquisite. Beautiful, my friend. 🙂 ❤

    Le gusta a 3 personas

    1. You’re too kind, Diana. I really appreciate your take on this poem. I remember before I’d ever attempted a sonnet, thinking how incredibly difficult it must be to write like that, so I never attepted writing one. Then, one night, I gave it a go and ended up with what is now part one of my «Grandfather» trilogy. I was so stoked that I was able to write a sonnet. So, not too long after that, I challenged myself to write a longer poem utilizing several sonnet stanzas. It took a while but I was able to do it and it was exhausting but really gratifying.

      It helped that I was writing about something with which I have way too much experience: insomnia. My love for dark imagery lent itself to this piece and I just started typing and followed along where it took me. I used poetic license here, of course–there are no demons or monsters involved in real-life–in order to create what I hoped to be a sort of interesting narrative of futility and despair. And that release near the end is cathartic, for sure. Sleep eventualluy comes, but usually after the damage has already been done. (I wouldn’t wish chronic insomnia on anyone.)

      Anyway, thank you so much for your wonderful comment. It really made my day. I’m glad you found this poem to your liking, my friend. 😊

      Le gusta a 2 personas

      1. Sorry for the late reply, Mike. I’ve been off exploring the Redwoods. You poetry always makes me marvel, and I doubt there’s a form that you can’t write if you put your mind to it.

        I thought of you often while walking a particular trail through hundreds of gigantic trees. There was utter silence. Not a distant hum of traffic, no wind, no birds. I stood there among the trees and wondered if I’d ever been in a place where there wasn’t constant noise. And it made me think about the difference between silence and the absence of sound, one glorious and the other a loss. That forest was one place where there would have been no difference between us. ❤

        Le gusta a 1 persona

    2. When I was three years old, my family lived just outside of Dinuba, California, which is about an hour from Sequoia National Park. I don’t recall ever visiting the park as a tot, but when I was about 15 or so, we drove from the family farm in Utah to CA to visit my grandma (my dad’s mom) near Dinuba and during that trip we drove to Sequoia to see the redwoods. It was magical. I didn’t have a camera back then or I’m sure I’d have spent all day photographing the trees.

      It is sort of unique and surreal to be in a soundless place like a deep forest. I always marvelled at that, too, when I was involved in nature photography in my 30s. Although my hearing was a little bit better back then, it was still a severe hearing loss, but there was such a stilness in the forests I photographed, and the meadows and the deserts. Sometimes I’d hear the breeze or the crunch of pine needles or sand beneath my feet. But I remember the still silence and how conducive it was to entering The Zone, that place of intense focus and concentration, where everything receeded and nothing else mattered but the moment, just being where I was, alone with nature, and everything was good in my world.

      To complement your forest experience, I once stayed late in Arches National Park in order to shoot star-trail images at Balanced Rock. When dark settled in, it was so incredibly still and quiet. No traffic, no lights, no sound, scents or sights of anything human. Just the vast, dark desert and the stars above. It was like being in another world. There is something profound in the silence of nature that even deaf people can identify and appreciate. I miss my nature photography days so much. I need that solitude among the quiet trees, and the knowledge that everything is all right in my world.

      Thanks for thinking of me in the redwoods, Diana. Thanks for sharing your adventure with me. 😊🌲

      Le gusta a 1 persona

      1. I swear I could feel the energy of the trees, Mike. I was dizzy at times from feeling so «dispersed» if that makes sense. My husband kept asking me, «Are you okay?» More than okay!

        Your descriptions of your days photographing nature make me want to see those images – old (and new?). I hope you make your way into nature again where everything is all right. Hugs.

        Le gusta a 1 persona

  4. This is a very intimate write, Mike. A very engaging sonnet. I find your style to be so sincere, and raw. Unafraid to peel back the layers and lay yourself and your emotions out in your lines. I can read your poems for hours mate. They simply resonate as I can’t always express some of these feelings… (Not without a temper tantrum at least) … But you don’t so well. I saw you mentioned the. Hour stretch of composing… That’s the stuff of legends mate. No sleep, but the end product is awesome.
    Thanks for sharing Mikey. 🙏

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Thanks, Nigel. I’m pretty sure you already understand about insomnia. This poem took a long time to write, but I enjoyed the challenge. If I was going to be awake all night anyway, I might as well try to make that time productive. I didn’t count on ten hours, though! But yeah, I wanted to express the utrter frustration and sense of futility that accompany chronic insomnia. Lots of poetic license was used here, but all the frustration is real, the self-doubt, the staring listlessly at the darkness, the unanswered (unaswerable?) questions brought on by depression…all real. It’s a life-changer, for sure.

      Thanks as always for your support, amigo. It means a lot to me. I appreciate you and I’m always glad to see you stop by. 😊

      Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario