“Coda: Farewell to a Dream” by Mike U.

I was twenty-six years old when music died. It had been on life-support for a few years, slowly fading yet stubbornly hanging on like some brittle yellow leaf which refuses to let go of the twig and clings hopelessly as autumn turns to winter. When if finally succumbed, it was like losing a close friend. Indeed, it felt like losing my only friend.

When I was eleven, my sixth-grade music teacher, Mrs. Bailey, took it upon herself to teach our class to play the ukulele. Perhaps she was a glutton for punishment, a closet-masochist who secretly delighted in the thought of a discordant, atonal symphony of inattentive brats banging senselessly on cheap instruments. Perhaps she had noble intentions of inspiring greatness in us, nurturing a possible prodigy or two and instilling a life-long love of music in us, the unwashed masses. Or perhaps she was bored. Who knows? And what did it matter? A few weeks of playing “I’ve Been Working on the Railroad” and “Row, Row, Row Your Boat” and we’d be done with it and we’d move on to greater, less embarrassing things in life.

But a funny thing happened. I fell in love. I’d never really paid much attention to music up to that point in my life. I was too busy being a baseball fanatic or riding my bike or playing with my G.I. Joe or little green army men to pay much heed to the finer things in life. But there was something about this strange little instrument that spoke to me. And I listened.

My parents took me to the nearest music store, fifty-five miles from the family farm, and bought a $12 ukulele for me. Twelve bucks is a lot of simoleons when you’re eleven years old, and I felt as though I were being entrusted with a Stradivarius or a Stratocaster. It had that funky Hawaiian sound that reminded me of Don Ho and Tiny Tim, and those four black nylon strings seemed to hold some kind of power, some hidden knowledge that beckoned me.

Mrs. Bailey taught us a few rudimentary chords (and by “a few” I mean three or four), which was about all our little sixth-grade pea-brains could handle. We learned a couple of old standards and goofed around and honestly, I think Mrs. Bailey was either deaf or had cotton in her ears because no normal human could remain as cheerful and encouraging around a gaggle of sixth-graders armed with lethal ukuleles as she could.

I had a Mel Bay ukulele instruction book at home and I taught myself a few more chords and immediately set about writing my first song, an epic masterpiece titled “Pickles and Cheese.” Three chords can certainly go to a musician’s head—after all, many classic rock songs contain only three chords—and I was sure I had achieved my masterwork. My mistake was playing it for my mom one day. (Dear Reader, I beseech you, if you ever write a song for the ukulele, DO NOT PLAY IT FOR YOUR MOTHER OR YOU’LL LIVE TO REGRET IT.) For years afterward, every time we’d have visitors at the farm, my mom would excitedly proclaim, “Mike wrote a song on the ukulele called ‘Pickles and Cheese!’ Go get your ukulele and play it for EVERYONE!” And I’d shrink to about half-size and shake my head vigorously and slink off to hide somewhere. It never failed. My magnum opus had become an albatross around my neck and would surely spell my doom lest my mom eventually forget.

About this time I began taking a real interest in guitars. I wanted one desperately, but a guitar was much more expensive than a ukulele. My dad—always prone to making promises he would delightedly and gleefully break—told me he’d buy a guitar for me if I learned to play the ukulele. I’d already learned more than anyone else in my music class and I was eager to learn more because man, I really wanted a guitar. But there was no pleasing my dad, a guy whose soul held no light or warmth or mirth or hope or any sense of keeping his word. As the months rolled by, I continued to teach myself more on the ukulele and my dad refused to hold up his end of the bargain (a recurrent theme throughout my life). I was upset, frustrated that he seemed to take a sick sort of joy in breaking promises, and I eventually reached the point of giving up hope. Then Christmas arrived, and with it an amazing surprise from my mom.

She’d spent $100 of her own money on a used Kay hummingbird acoustic guitar. It wasn’t fancy and the action was too high but it was beautiful, cherry sunburst, and along with a case and a small bag of picks and an instruction book, it contained unlimited hope and potential. I really didn’t know what to think, I was so shocked. My dad was furious, of course, and yelled at my mom for doing something as outrageous as supporting her child’s dreams, and he made it clear to me many times that he’d break the guitar if I played too loudly. Yeah, he really knew how to ruin everything, and his threats and the way he treated my mom for doing something kind for me led to a sense of doom and guilt and embarrassment that would soon manifest itself in an unexpected way.

I played around with the guitar for a few days, then abruptly put it away. Looking at it made me feel worthless, undeserving, and my dad’s threats had destroyed any joy I’d felt when my mom had given it to me. I simply couldn’t bear to play it. So I put it away. For five years. And tried not to think about it, or music, anymore. My mom never said anything about this but I know it hurt her, and I don’t know if she ever understood why I gave up on it. I was too young to accurately articulate what was going on in my head. Fortunately, this hiatus would end just as abruptly as it had begun.

I was sixteen when I suddenly developed the urge to dig my guitar out of the closet. I’d become heavily interested in music by this time and I suppose this was a natural progression. I grabbed the song book that had come with the guitar and sat down in my bedroom and began teaching myself to play. It was as though a switch had been flipped, as if I had only been waiting for the right time to arrive, and that time had finally come. After two straight weeks of teaching myself chords, I began picking up songs off the radio and playing them. My hearing was normal back then and I had a good ear and could play songs after only a listen to two. I gravitated toward guitar-oriented music, of course, and for me this meant bands like Boston, Journey, Kansas, Styx, Rush, Eagles, Badfinger, Jefferson Starship, Aerosmith, Led Zeppelin and other rock bands whose songs were carried by the few radio stations I could pick up at the farm. I’d lie in bed at night with my little transistor radio under my pillow and listen to KOMA out of Norman, Oklahoma or X-Rock 80 out of Juarez, Mexico (both Top 40 AM stations) and dream of hearing my own songs play on those stations one day.

The summer of my seventeenth year, I had a job pumping gas at a Texaco station in town. Once again, my dad had made one of his sketchy promises: he would pay for an electric guitar if I’d pay for the amplifier. I’d already picked out the guitar I wanted and set about working to earn the money for the amp. Of course, my dad backed out again and I had to pay for both the amp and most of the guitar. He was angry because I was happy and had kept my end of the deal. When we went to the music store to pick up the guitar and amp, he said, “If you play that thing too loud, I’ll break it!” I mean, this guy had a natural talent for being an asshole. So, with Mr. Guilt Trip having said his piece, I set about exploring the world of the electric guitar.

I was writing music and lyrics by this point, and to say music—and guitar—had become an obsession for me would be quite an understatement. I was living and breathing music. When I wasn’t listening to music, I was playing my guitars. My mom told me many times that she’d lie awake in bed at night, waiting for me to return home from my job at the gas station, because she knew I’d play my guitar for awhile before I went to bed. I had no idea she had been doing this. It was incredibly touching, and I felt as though maybe there was someone who supported me after all.

Music was also my therapy. I grew up in a severely dysfunctional home where there was domestic violence. My dad was a monster who had no qualms about knocking his wife around now and then or making his kids hate themselves. I was my mom’s self-appointed protector. It was my job to make sure my dad couldn’t harm her, and it was an exhausting and never-ending job. And I mean that. Even today, at age fifty-seven, with both my parents gone, I’m still dealing with major depression and PTSD from my childhood and several events that took place involving my dad using physical violence against my mom. I had no close friends so I had no one to talk to about any of this. I was painfully shy and extremely introverted and suffering from more than my share of self-hatred. All I had were my guitars. I would pick them up and disappear into some alternate reality where things were peaceful and there was beauty and kindness and no violent, abusive fathers and no need for young boys to be hyper-vigilant to the point of developing major depression and PTSD. Music was my balm, my elixir, my panacea. I would oftentimes fall asleep with my guitar in my hands, having drifted off to the soothing tranquility of those six magical strings. Music was everything to me. It was life, it was hope, it was healing, it was safety. And it was all too fleeting.

By this point, my mind was made up. I was going to be a musician. I was going to start a band, write original songs, record albums and tour. It was going to be my songs I’d be hearing on KOMA and X-Rock 80, my albums I’d see in music stores, my band’s name on the marquees of venues across the land. Everything was set. All I had to do was continue playing, keep improving and never give up. Nothing could stop me.

Well, they don’t call me Captain Irony for nothing. In late winter of my senior year of high school, I developed meningitis during a basketball tournament at my school. It was my last hurrah as a high school athlete (one who had been relegated to the bench for the most part in football and basketball due to religious discrimination), and I ended up missing the state tournament. I was seriously ill, with a high fever that lasted for about a week. I’d never been that sick prior to that, and haven’t since. I missed two weeks of school. And thus began my journey into deafness.

It started slowly, with my family noticing I was saying, “Huh?” quite often. I began missing words on spelling tests at school—something that never happened before—due to not understanding what word the teacher was saying. As time went by, I began struggling to understand speech and ended up with my first pair of hearing aids (which didn’t help at all) at age twenty-one in 1985. I could still understand music for the most part, although I was beginning to have trouble with it, too. It took me longer to figure out songs, and there were many instances where I couldn’t decipher chord patterns or solos at all. But I kept playing because playing guitar was all I knew at that point. It was everything. The more I improved as a guitarist, the worse my hearing became. I continued writing music and absorbing whatever guitar-related literature I could get my hands on, but in the back of my mind I could feel things slipping away, and it frightened me.

Music died for me in 1990. I was twenty-six. I developed a serious bout of strep throat which infected my ears, and lost a huge chunk of my hearing. I was immediately tone-deaf. I recall trying to play my guitars after that and not being able to differentiate between notes and chords. Everything sounded the same. It felt like the wind had been knocked out of me. Just like that, my dream of being a musician was over.

I felt lost without my guitars. I’d always carried a guitar pick in my pocket everywhere I went. It was my lucky talisman. I reckon its luck had finally run dry. I could no longer improvise. I still knew how to play, but I wasn’t able to understand what I played anymore. I felt like that little sixth-grader noisily strumming the strings of that ukulele so many years ago before I had any idea what I was doing. All I had now were memories of music, memories of playing guitar.

What’s more, I had lost my therapist. I could no longer use my guitars to calm myself and keep myself sane in a crazy world. When I’d try playing, it just made things worse. The sense of loss was palpable and felt so unfair. I wanted to blame someone, something, for this mess, but there was no one to blame. I was sick as a teenager. I fell ill with meningitis during a basketball tournament. Years later, I came down with strep throat. That was it. I was angry at God for a long time (and I still have questions about it, let me tell you). Humans have a need to assign blame when things go wrong in order to maintain the facade of an orderly universe. When bad things occur, if we can pin the blame on someone or something, we set the world to order again and can go about our ways being angry at the person or thing that caused our pain as we grieve. But what to do when no one is at fault? There’s no closure. There are only questions that remain unanswered and which leave us with a sense of a universe that is totally random and merciless.

I have memories. Playing a classical piece in an ensemble at the regional music competition my junior year of high school. Late-night jamming with my drummer buddy Jeff at the school’s music room during freshman year of college. Recording myself jamming and being humbled and shocked and delighted at the reactions of people who listened to those jam tapes. And I still have my guitars, all three of them, in my closet as I type this. They will be with me always, even though I haven’t played them for years. I will remember falling asleep with my guitars in my hands, my arm-hairs vibrating to loud power chords, jamming alone with my eyes closed and my mind far, far away from all the pain and frustration of the real world.

I still have music, of sorts. My mind constantly has some background song or other playing at all times, something that’s been with me for decades—different songs for different occasions. During times of extreme stress, such as my mom’s death, my dad’s physically assaulting me and threatening to kill me, the ending of relationships, music was there in my head, working its soothing magic and holding me together. I can’t play my guitars anymore, nor can I understand any music that’s come out since 1990, but I have all those songs from my past that have never abandoned me. So, in a weird way, music is still the constant in my life, the linchpin, the cornerstone of everything I am. Put simply, despite being deaf, I can’t live without it. Yes, Captain Irony again.

(Link blog)

25 comentarios sobre ““Coda: Farewell to a Dream” by Mike U.

  1. «When I was eleven, my sixth-grade music teacher, Mrs. Bailey, took it upon herself to teach our class to play the ukulele. Perhaps she was a glutton for punishment, a closet-masochist who secretly delighted in the thought of a discordant, atonal symphony of inattentive brats banging senselessly on cheap instruments»
    Muy bueno! Thanks juan

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    1. Many thanks, Juan. I recall Mrs. Bailey, my sixth-grade music teacher, with a lot of fondness. She was such a fun person and incredibly patient with the class as she instructed us in the fine art of noise-making. 😀 I still have my old ukulele, as well as my three guitars. They’ll be with me always. Thanks so much for the opportunity to share my life with your readers. Much appreciated. 🙂

      Le gusta a 3 personas

  2. Dearest Mike,

    Thank you for sharing this series. I believe you are helping a lot of people who have had a similar experience even if it is another sense – like blindness. We never know who we might reach. So I thank you on their behalf too. It is probably not easy to share some of these heartbreaking memories.

    I am glad that your mother obviously loved you very much and did things to help you even if she got it from your dad later. When teenagers we need the support of someone that doesn’t endanger ourselves or others. Your mother showed her love by listening when you got home at night to you play and buying that first guitar. She sounds like a wonderful woman. Your father who should have been there for you during the hard stuff not just when you could still hear and he was obviously proud of you.

    I remember that anger with God! I would walk out in my slip at night even in the wind and throw my thin arm in the air and yell out God with the top of my voice. «Why can’t you just pull me up with your large hand?» No matter how I looked at things when they were the worse I honestly didn’t understand why God just didn’t take me home. I am so sorry you didn’t have the protection and love as you grew deaf, by your family. You must have been one of the loneliness teenagers and young adults. Threatening to kill a child, is something so frightening that it is hard for people who have had a childhood with violence – so you know the person might be capable of doing what they threaten to do.

    I think you could write a book about your experiences Mike and what you went through. I loved that you included the pic and so glad you kept your guitar and that you had music to try and lose yourself in such a horrible situation. As children we always feel guilty for all the bad things that happen and also we become a functioning parent. That too, robs you of your childhood. I read your words and there is so much pain and hurt. You are a kind, handsome, and lovely human being that any person would be blessed to spend time with as a friend, or companion. We know people can be cruel but there are still wonderful people in the world. Blessings to you for sharing this story, it takes a lot of courage and stinging memories to do what you are doing! People will eventually start reaching out to you, you will see. They did to me, which was an enormous blessing for me. I have an off line relationship as friends with some of these wonderful people. They bless my heart the way you do with your writing and courage. Sending you big southern hugs and my love. Thank you again Mike.

    An enormous thanks to j re crivello for publishing this honest series and reaching so many others, who will read this series and thank I am not so different than many people who grew up like I did.

    Le gusta a 4 personas

    1. Thanks a bunch, Joni. Your thoughtfulness means a lot to me. 🙂

      My mom tried her best. There wasn’t a lot she could do, obviously, being married to an abusive monster, and she made mistakes along the way, but we all do. My experience centered around having an abusive father; my mom’s experience was with an abusive husband. So, the dynamics were different for her. She did the best she could, but it was a bad situation overall, and there was really no way for any of us to cope with what was happening in a healthy manner. We all developed coping/defense mechanisms and tactics to help us survive and endure, and while those tactics may have helped us during those early years, they’ve proven to hinder and damage us as adults. I’m guessing you already understand how that works. But she tried, and her gift of my first guitar was such a surprise that I didn’t know how to react. In a blasted landscape, one small flower can redeem even the most battered soul, you know? My mom was that flower, and her support for my music, photography, writing and high school sports was unwavering and very much appreciated by me. I only wish she were still alive to see me finally become a published writer. She would have been so excited! (Big thanks to Terveen Gill, Nolcha Fox and Juan Re Crivello for this wonderful gift and fulfillment of a life-long dream.)

      You’re not the only person who has told me I should write a memoir of my life experiences. To me, my life is the apotheosis of boredom and failure, so I don’t know if anyone would actually be interested in reading about some guy’s misadventures as he stumbles and continuously stubs his toes on life’s uneven path. If I ever do decide to pursue such a project, I shall let you know, and a signed copy shall somehow make its way into your hands, for use as a paperweight or a coaster or a doorstop. 😀

      In all seriousness, I do hope my words connect with someone out there who may be deaf or otherwise disabled or suffering from depression/PTSD or who was subjected to a rough childhood. Enduring pain and sorrow alone is the worst feeling of all. It’s my hope that people will find something in my poetry and essays that may help assuage their loneliness and let them know someone cares. It’s a hard world, and we all need and deserve love and acceptance and friendship.

      Thanks again, Joni, for all you do. I appreciate it. Tell Scott hello for me, will you? 🙂

      Le gusta a 2 personas

      1. We have so much in common Mike. I do suffer from PTSD and even have a support dog. By the way your sentence, “In a blasted landscape, one small flower can redeem even the most battered soul!” What a remarkably beautiful quote! If I thought of something that good, I would put it at the end of my pieces as a signature quote. She probably does know, your mother, that you are published. I agree with you about the thanks to all the people who have been mentors to us. I feel the same way about the people you mentioned as being great mentors. I also feel the need to mention Susi Bocks, Lisa Tomey Zonneveld, Barbara Leonhard, and Gabriela Milton. This does not include a multitude of amazing riders that I learned from every day. You have taught me much as well. it may take a while before you hear from the people that relate to your post, in regards to your deafness. It took a while for people to start reaching out to me, off-line, but they did. You are an amazing writer and trust me when I say you make a difference. thank you for being my friend, I considerate my honor to be your friend and to know you. Love, Joni.

        Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Many thanks, Cassa. Life is strange that way, isn’t it? So many paradoxes and strange coincidences along the way. Some things never really die, I suppose, or they return in some other fashion. Music is still in my head and my heart and soul, and that will never change. It’s simply not in my ears anymore. Now and then, I’ll take my guitars out of the closet and hold them for a while as a way to reexperience the tactile sensations of the wood and strings. They bring back good memories.

      I appreciate that you took time to read this piece, my friend. Thanks again. 🙂

      Le gusta a 1 persona

  3. God bless those middle school music teachers. Mine was a saint who brought out our best. The only thing I knew about you, prior to this piece, Mike, is what a fantastic writer you are. Learning about your history, your courage, and your heartbreak over early goals, among other things, leaves me in awe of your ability to persevere with a gracious attitude.

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Thanks so much, Michele. Yep, the patience of music teachers is amazing, for sure! Her husband was a teacher, too, and I had him for 8th grade science, 11th grade chemistry and 12th grade Advanced Placement biology. Cool people, indeed. 🙂

      Also, thanks for your kindness, my friend. I value your support and it’s always nice to see your comments. Childhood can be tough for a lot of people. Without something good to hold onto (like music, in my case), it’s easy to succumb to the darkness and lose oneself. Music was instrumental (to make a pun) in keeping me alive as a teen, and I miss being able to hear and play it immensely. However, those constant songs playing in my mind remind me that music never really died after all…it just took on another form. I’m thankful for that, for life without music is like life without oxygen, you know?

      Thanks again for everything, Michele. I truly appreciate you, and I’m glad you’re a part of this WP community. 🙂

      Le gusta a 1 persona

  4. What a tragic loss of such an important part of your life, Mike. The start of your ukulele story was delightfully funny, and how amazing of your mom to follow through on your dad’s broken promise and purchase a guitar for you. That was brave and immensely loving. I knew what was coming, though, and it broke my heart. I’m not surprised that you still hear music in your head because your poetry has a wonderful cadence/sound to it. You are still creating music, though I know it’s not the same, and you’d probably give anything to be able to play your guitars again. Thanks for sharing this part of your life with us. Hugs, my friend.

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Thanks, Diana. It’s odd to think you can lose something forever, yet discover it’s right there inside of you all the while. Music is like that for me. And I agree with you–when I write poetry, it almost seems as if I’m writing music in my head. Rhythm, cadence, flow…it’s still there. Indeed, when I visit my «haiku place» in my mind (I’ve mentioned this place in the comments section of my blog a couple of times) in order to write poetry, there’s always music playing there (usually a classical guitar piece by Rush titled «Broon’s Bane,» which I taught myself to play as a teen). So, yes, music still lives in me, albeit differently that it lives for hearing folks. I don’t know where I’d be or how I’d live without it.

      Thanks as always for your kind and thoughtful comments. I feel honored to be able to share my experiences with people here and on my blog. It’s an opportunity to connect with people and hopefully bridge gaps and foster commonality. It’s also allowed me to come across some really wonderful people like you, and I’m extremely thankful for that. 🙂

      Le gusta a 1 persona

  5. Mike you’re an amazing writer. Not just in this piece but in your poetry as well, your personality has an adept magnetic pull to it, and it seasons every line in your pieces.
    This installment of the series began so funny..love the bits about the ukele classes lol.
    But learning of your story.. the way the illness altered the trajectory of your life, and knowing that you’re adapting, and still blessing the world with your creative gift, is inspiring.
    My take away is the power within is immeasurable. We don’t know what life has in store for us, but that passion inside never goes away. You still make music with your poetry.. you still write sonatas and operas for us to enjoy.
    The music hasn’t died my friend..it has evolved, as you have evolved. You are the music, and it’s worth listening to every note. ❤️💙💪💪💪

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. Your words are so kind, my friend… Thank you for this gift today. I truly appreciate it. 🙂

      I’m glad to know you enjoyed this wide-ranging piece. Happiness/silliness at the beginning of my ukulele adventure turns to sadness and frustration and loss later on, but such is life, eh? We do our best and it’s not always good enough, and sometimes things happen to us outside of our control and we’re left picking up the pieces and trying to reassemble them into something that vaguely resembles who we thought we were. I’m truly glad I still have my writing, sporadic as it may be due to writer’s block. I still have my voice, and that’s important. I believe music shaped my poetry, as Diana mentioned above. I still hear it in my head, heart and soul, and it can’t help but to show up in my words. It’s not quite the same as jamming on my guitar with my eyes closed and my mind far away, but it’s equally as satisfying when it flows.

      I’m glad to have you along with me on this writing journey, Nigel. Much respect to you, amigo. Thanks so much for your kindness. 🙂

      Le gusta a 2 personas

      1. It my pleasure my friend. And you’re welcome. I won’t lose hope that one day you’ll be jammin again. There is so much technological innovations in the works, you never know what’s around the corner. And for now, you’re writing is magical mate.
        As for writers block..I use to experience it quite often. But I’ve taught myself little tricks to jumpstart my creativity. And also made writing a part of my daily discipline, even if it’s just journaling. Now, I realise it’s physical exhaustion that stops.me from writing. Life gets in the way as I have a lot of stories pending updates.
        Don’t give up on the dream of jammin again. And don’t you dare give up on the gift of creativity you’ve been blessed with. The world is blessed when you share with us.. 👏👏💙

        Le gusta a 1 persona

  6. Hi Mike, I loved reading about your early days of learning the ukulele and about your amazing teacher. She reminds me of Mr. Perry, who was my choir teacher in high school, and who encouraged me to pursue singing. Aside from this, I remember reading about your father, and I’m heartbroken again because of the monster he was and what you had to endure as a young boy. But I love how your mom supported you. That was very touching. I’m sorry music isn’t the same for you, but I can understand that you’d still hear it in your head. And I’m glad you kept the guitars. The writer you have become though is so extraordinary – your poetry and personal stories. So, thank you for sharing this glimpse of yourself with us. Sending hugs. ❤️

    Le gusta a 2 personas

    1. You’re too kind, Lauren. Thanks a bunch for your wonderful words. It’s funny, the things we remember about our teachers, isn’t it? I wonder if they realize the impact they’ve had on us down through the years? The gift of music can last a lifetime. I’m happy to know Mr. Perry instilled a love for music in you. 🙂

      Life has some strange detours, for sure. My music sort of turned into poetry somewhere along the way. I’m glad there’s still a creative spark within me (regardless of how elusive it appears at times due to writer’s block). I know I’m not the only deaf person who has lost music, so I hope someone out there may stumble across this essay and perhaps realize someone understands.

      Thanks again for your kindness, Lauren. I truly appreciate you, my friend. 🙂

      Le gusta a 1 persona

      1. Ironically, I’ve stayed in contact with Mr. Perry, and he’s only 8 years older than me. He was more like a friend to his students than a teacher. Everyone loved him, and he insisted that we call him Ron. He’s a friend now, but without his support, I wouldn’t have those great spotlight memories. I’m sure your stories resonate with others, Mike. That’s the magic of sharing our writing, to show that we are not alone with our emotions. You’re so welcome, and I appreciate you. I’m sending more hugs because that’s what I do. 🙂

        Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario